i was so honored a while back when my old livejournal pal and crafitivism writer betsy greer asked me to write a sidebar blurb for her new book, knitting for good! betsy sent me a copy of my very own and though i am completely humbled by the amazing array of other contributors in such a wonderfully written and inspiring book, i am also very proud and have to share the news with you.

though i haven’t quite finished it yet, i can say already that knitting for good is a most excellent read for knitters and non-knitters alike. personally, i’m more of a crochet brain (though i don’t buy that whole sticks vs hooks war rumor) but the book focuses so much on the meditative effects and the community aspect of making in general that i don’t at all feel as though i’m reading a specialized “for knitters only” insiders’ guide. to the contrary! betsy’s almost convinced me to try my hand with the sticks once more! almost.

anyway, if you’ve got a knitter, a maker or candlestick sticker on your list, this bright and empowering little book would make a great gift! i feel very lucky to have my own copy as it would definitely be on my list otherwise.

2 Responses to “”

  1. Anabela Says:

    Oh! My old livejournal pal Cathy is in that book, I think! Thanks for the reminder and the description; I don’t pay too much attention to knitting books, but it sounds like something I would love to read.

  2. valerie Says:

    sure thing anabela!
    yeah, i tend to skip over the knitting books in the shop too, but this one is different for sure

Leave a Reply

